Skip to content

400 magazines in 2014

31 January 2014

I know what you’re thinking. “She’s prepping for the zombie apocalypse!” Gracious, child… don’t you know ray guns are far more effective against Nazi zombies?

bookcase

Go ahead, count for yerself

Thanks to a friend’s brief eBay obsession, there are over 400 digest-size magazines on my bookshelves. Most are old Fantasy & Science Fiction (F&SF) purchased in bulk. The balance is comprised of a few dozen Analogs, Asimov’s, Ellery Queen Mystery Magazine (EQMM) and Alfred Hitchcock Mystery Magazine (AHMM). Dates range from the early 80s to two years ago (now I get my magazines digitally, so I’m no longer feeding the pile).

As a kid I read AHMM and EQMM by the bagful. Literally… my parents got bags of them from… somewhere. There’s a lot to be said for retreating into a hidden corner and devouring story after story, jumping into new worlds every few pages. Bookworm heaven. And now I’ve got a chance to relive that.

 

 

My goal? To read all the magazines on my shelves in 2014.

It’s the end of January and I haven’t made much progress due to deadlines and a vacation, but I still have hope, and here’s why:

1. I already read two dozen-ish of the magazines over the last couple of years
2. If I don’t like a story, I am sooooo going to skim or skip it
3. There are really only 386 of them

Rule #2 isn’t cheating because I rarely read every story in an issue of anything. Lit journals, poetry journals, newspapers etc etc. So I’m not going to force myself to read any poorly aging stories if the writing and characters aren’t compelling. Poorly aging means, for example, stories with flying cars but people still use land lines. Or stories where the minority groups are portrayed in obnoxious ways. Express your disproval in the comments, but know that when you disagree with me, you look like a zombie.

Haven’t yet figured out the mechanism for blogging my process. (By the shelf? Month? Month of publication? Year?) But I’m really excited.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

