Skip to content

Push to Publish, 2011

14 April 2012

Oh, it’s been a while.  Sigh.  My excuse this year is the lack of winter.  As the weather never cooled down, I’ve been walking around thinking that it’s still October, 2011.

And since it’s still October, I’ll tell you about the 2011 Push to Publish conference at Rosemont College.  It’s a full day mix of panels and agent pitches, and the price is just right.  I could get my YA zombie book into shape by then, right?  I imagined showing it to agents.  I imagined prying their desperate hands from my ankles.

Registration was an hour long, and even though I arrived 20 minutes in, the speed date slots for the ‘hottest’ agents and publishers were full.  Not a huge deal as the agents who handled YA weren’t so into the whole zombie thing.

That freed me to choose the excellent Tamara Oakman from Apiary Magazine.  Since I didn’t have a printed copy of my excerpt, I handed her my kindle.  (One day I’ll have to do a blog post about how e-readers have changed the way I work.)  She was supportive and laughed at the appropriate places and told me to get an agent.  Then we talked about reading slush for a literary magazine (something I’ve always wanted to do).  I love that she didn’t make me feel like I was wasting her time because I definitely was.

Next came mingling and lunches and panels.  It seemed that everyone everywhere wanted to talk about traditional publishing versus e-publishing.  I thought that was all worked out several years ago?  Apparently, it’s like breaking up with someone who still thinks you’re getting married.  During Steve Almond’s (very excellent) keynote speech, an agent (who shall remain nameless) got a little combative.

By the end of the day, I just kept thinking that if agents are this desperate, things must be even worse than I thought.  Luckily, other agents were completely lovely people who focused on what they can bring to the table (as opposed to why writers who go it alone are losers).

Ok, did anyone prostrate herself at my feet, begging to read my story?  Well, no.  I did get requests, though, as a result of that mingling.  That reminds me… must get the book to those who wanted it.  But what if they aren’t the right partners for me?  Better research every applicable agent first.  And then research them all again.  Good thing it’s still October.  If I waited seven months, that’d be really pathetic.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. 14 April 2012 21:49

    Thanks Savannah 🙂 Yay, I found your fan page… did you know your name still links to the over capacity fb page?

  2. 14 April 2012 18:18

    Well I hope all the hard work pays off and the requests turn into sales.

Leave a Reply

